PDA

View Full Version : TALONCLUB.com may be going down/away soon

Silver_2000
02-26-2003, 11:00 AM
I just received a move it or loose it email from the Webhost.

I am not experienced enough to feel comfortable moving my sites to a Dedicated server - But I may not have a choice

They have threatened to shut the site down.

If they do you will know why...

My apologies in advance

Doug

L8 APEX
02-26-2003, 11:16 AM
Does that affect all of the TALON sites or a specific section? Any solid reason, money, space...?

Silver_2000
02-26-2003, 11:20 AM
More info here

http://www.talonclub.com/4images/index.html

I have taken the galleries down for the time being..

We are very clear about the the design of the bulk reseller accounts not being intended for larger sites. They are intended to be used for small and medium-sized sites with little resource usage. Any larger account found running on the bulk servers will be suspended immediately for excessive resource consumption.

Talonclub.com is definitely over its bounds on even a V500 and needs to be moved off centipede as soon as possible.

We were hoping to give you the opportunity to resolve this through the current VPS discussion instead of needing to resort to a move-or-suspension e-mail in the near future. Nobody likes to be pushed to a new hosting plan they hadn’t planned on, so our current e-mails seemed to be a more friendly way of going about it. Unfortunately, talonclub.com has been identified as needing to be moved. We’d like to help you with this, and we really don’t want it to come to the point of needing to suspend in order to preserve server performance.

Doug

L8 APEX
02-26-2003, 11:28 AM
So we are too great for their **** hole server:flaming: Do we need to buy a larger plan with them, remove certain forums/sections to meet their limits. ie Photo gallery, chat, RC:D. Seek a larger server elsewhere? Andy Cain expressed the ability to get space from his employer SUN Systems cheap.